Federal Office of Police

MROS mandatory reporting practice (Article 9 Money Laundering Act MLA) with respect to the Federal Council’s emergency regulations on sanctions against certain persons from Tunisia, Egypt, etc.)

The Federal Council has issued the following regulations based on emergency law (Article 184 paragraph 3 of the Federal Constitution; SR 101):

  • Regulation of 2 February 2011 on measures against certain persons from the Arab Republic of Egypt (SR 946.231.132.1)
  • Regulation of 19 January 2011 on measures against certain persons from the Republic of Tunisia (SR 946.231.175.8)

Under these regulations financial intermediaries are required to report to the Directorate of Public International Law at the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) any business connections with certain persons from the Arab Republic of Egypt and the Republic of Tunisia and to freeze their respective assets.

In connection with these regulations, the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) published the following statement on its website: Submitting a report to the Directorate of Public International Law under the emergency regulations does not discharge financial intermediaries from their duty to submit a report immediately to the Money Laundering Reporting Office Switzerland (MROS) under Article 9 of the Money Laundering Act."

MROS would like to take this opportunity of explaining how this statement should be construed, i.e. when mandatory reporting under Art. 9 MLA (SR 955.0) should be applied:

  • Financial intermediaries are required to report to the Directorate for Public International Law any person, business or organisation listed in the annex to the regulations and to freeze the corresponding assets. This takes place irrespective of submitting a report to MROS. The financial intermediary is not obliged by law to send MROS a copy of the report submitted to the Directorate.

  • Financial intermediaries who submit a report to the Directorate for Public International Law are required under Article 6 paragraph 2 letter b of the Money Laundering Act to carry out a special examination of the reported business connection. If, after special examination, no further suspicious facts are established other than the naming of the person, business or organisation in the annex to the regulations, then a well-founded suspicion does not exist.
     
  • If, however, further factors (other than merely being listed in the annex to the regulation) arouse a well-founded suspicion of the person, business or organisation, then financial intermediaries must submit a report to MROS under their duty to report according to Article 9 of the Money Laundering Act. Factors arousing a well-founded suspicion may include, for example, criminal proceedings in Switzerland or abroad that are in progress against such natural or legal persons, entities or bodies (see Council Regulation (EU) No 101/2011 of 4 February 2001 concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons, entities and bodies in view of the situation in Tunisia and the grounds listed in Annex I of the said regulation), requests for mutual assistance, implausible transaction patterns or suspense accounts, et cetera.
     
  • If financial intermediaries harbour a basic suspicion, they may make use of their right to report to MROS (voluntary reporting) under Article 305ter paragraph 2 of the Swiss Criminal Code.
     
  • At the same time as submitting a mandatory report under Article 9 of the Money Laundering Act, the financial intermediary is required to freeze the corresponding assets according to Article 10 of the Money Laundering Act. This may appear not to be necessary in view of the blocking of assets already implemented under the Federal Council regulation. However, it is essential that the financial intermediary do this because the assets must be frozen under different legal bases. If, for example, the person reported were removed from the list in the Federal Council regulation, the associated freezing of assets would be lifted. If, however, a well-founded suspicion persisted and a report had been submitted to MROS under Article 9 of the Money Laundering Act, the assets would have to remain legally frozen for five working days (Art. 10 MLA).

Bundesamt für Polizei

Praxis der MROS in Bezug auf die Meldepflicht (Art. 9 GwG) i. Z. mit den bundesrätlichen Notverordnungen (Sanktionen gegen Exponenten aus Tunesien, Ägypten et cetera):

Der Bundesrat hat basierend auf Notrecht (gestützt auf Artikel 184 Absatz 3 der Bundesverfassung; SR 101) folgende Verordnungen erlassen:

  • Verordnung vom 2. Februar 2011 über Massnahmen gegen gewisse Personen aus der Arabischen Republik Ägypten (SR 946.231.132.1)
  • Verordnung vom 19. Januar 2011 über Massnahmen gegen gewisse Personen aus Tunesien (SR 946.231.175.8)

Basierend auf diesen Verordnungen werden die Finanzintermediäre aufgefordert, der Direktion für Völkerrecht (DV) des Eidgenössischen Departements für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA) gemäss den Vorschriften der Verordnung über Massnahmen gegen gewisse Personen aus der Arabischen Republik Ägypten, beziehungsweise aus Tunesien, solche Geschäftsbeziehungen zu melden und die entsprechenden Vermögenswerte zu blockieren.

In diesem Zusammenhang publizierte die FINMA auf ihrer Webseite dass "eine auf den erwähnten Verordnungen basierende Meldung an die Direktion für Völkerrecht im EDA den Finanzintermediär nicht davon entbinde, unverzüglich bei der Meldestelle für Geldwäscherei MROS gemäss Art. 9 des Geldwäschereigesetzes Meldung zu erstatten."

Die MROS erläutert hiermit, wie diese Aussage zu verstehen ist, beziehungsweise wann die Meldepflicht gemäss Art. 9 GwG (SR 955.0) wahrzunehmen ist:

  • Der Finanzintermediär muss die im Anhang der Verordnung gelisteten Personen, Unternehmen und/oder Organisationen der Direktion für Völkerrecht, EDA, melden und die Vermögenswerte sperren. Dies erfolgt unabhängig einer Verdachtsmeldung an die Meldestelle MROS. Der Meldestelle MROS ist keine Kopie der Meldung an die Direktion für Völkerrecht, EDA, zuzusenden, da eine entsprechende Verpflichtung, beziehungsweise eine Rechtsgrundlage fehlt.
      
  • Macht der Finanzintermediär eine Meldung an die Direktion für Völkerrecht im EDA, so muss er in Bezug auf diese gemeldeten Geschäftsbeziehungen besondere Abklärungen gemäss Art. 6 Abs. 2 Bst. b GwG vornehmen. Werden ausser der Tatsache, dass Personen, Unternehmen und/oder Organisationen im Anhang der Verordnung gelistet sind, keine weiteren Verdachtsmomente gefunden, so besteht kein begründeter Verdacht.
      
  • Bestehen neben der Tatsache, dass eine Person, Unternehmung und/oder Organisation auf der Liste im Anhang der Verordnung über Massnahmen gegen gewisse Personen aus der Arabischen Republik Ägypten, beziehungsweise aus Tunesien aufgeführt ist, weitere Elemente, die den begründeten Verdacht hervorrufen, so muss der Finanzintermediär seiner Meldepflicht nach Art. 9 GwG an die Meldestelle MROS nachkommen. Solche verdachtsbegründende Elemente sind beispielsweise Hinweise, dass gegen solche natürliche oder juristische Personen strafrechtliche Ermittlungen im In- oder Ausland laufen (vgl. hierzu beispielsweise die "Verordnung der Europäischen Union (EU) Nr. 101/2011 des Rates vom 04. Februar 2011 über restriktive Maßnahmen gegen bestimmte Personen, Organisationen und Einrichtungen angesichts der Lage in Tunesien" und die Begründung der gelisteten Personen im Anhang IA), Rechtshilfegesuche gestellt sind, nicht plausible Transaktionsmuster oder Durchlaufkonti vorliegen, et cetera.
      
  • Bei einfachem Verdacht besteht die Möglichkeit einer Meldung gemäss dem Melderecht nach Art. 305ter Abs. 2 StGB.
      
  • Mit der Meldepflicht gemäss Art. 9 GwG ist gleichzeitig die Vermögenssperre gemäss Art. 10 GwG wahrzunehmen. Dies mag aufgrund der bereits erfolgten Sperrung aufgrund der bundesrätlichen Verordnung als obsolet angesehen werden, ist es aber nicht. Es handelt sich hierbei um zwei verschiedene Vermögenssperren, basierend auf verschiedenen Rechtsgrundlagen. Würde beispielsweise die gemeldete Person von der bundesrätlichen Verordnungsliste gestrichen, so würde die damit verbundene Vermögenssperre aufgehoben. Bestünde jedoch dennoch ein begründeter Verdacht und wäre eine Verdachtsmeldung gemäss Art. 9 GwG an die MROS gemacht worden, so müssten die Vermögenswerte während 5 Werktagen (Art. 10 GwG) gesetzlich gesperrt bleiben.