Federal Office of Justice

UBS case

Agreement between the United States of America and Switzerland on the request for information from the Internal Revenue Service regarding UBS

What is it about?

The Agreement on the request for information from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) regarding UBS resolves the conflict over sovereignty with the USA along the lines provided for in the Tax Treaty. The negotiated solution settles the potential conflict between the respective legal orders of Switzerland and USA now that the USA agree to forgo unilateral measures to obtain information. The IRS submits a new treaty request to the Swiss Federal Tax Administration (SFTA) on the basis of the tax treaty currently in effect between the two nations. In return, Switzerland has undertaken to process the new treaty request within a year.

What has happened so far?
  • On 30 April 2009, Switzerland files a brief with the United States District Court in Miami competent in the UBS case. In its brief, the federal government explains its legal position on the case and emphasizes that Switzerland's legal system, and thus its sovereignty, must be respected (media release media release).
  • In a response to the opinion of the U.S. authorities in the UBS case, Switzerland on 7 July 2009 confirms that Swiss law prohibits handing over client information. In its filing with the competent court in Miami, the government of Switzerland also points out that the necessary measures to implement Swiss law have been prepared (media release media release).
  • On 12 July 2009, the US Government and UBS, with the support of the Swiss Government, file a joint motion to stay the civil litigation pending in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida in Miami (media release media release). Hereinafter, the Court stays the proceedings two other times in order to achieve a settlement.
  • On 12 August 2009 the USA and Switzerland inform the judge that they have reached the out-of-court settlement in the US civil proceedings against UBS (media release media release).
  • On 19 August 2009 the agreement between the USA and Switzerland enters into force. In the UBS case, the United States will submit a new treaty request to Switzerland and will withdraw the John Doe summons that demands disclosure of the identity of 52,000 UBS account-holders. In return, Switzerland has undertaken to process the new treaty request, concerning approx. 4,450 accounts, within a year (media release media release).
  • On 19 August 2009 the Federal Council instructs the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) to set up a project organisation team to deal with the second complex request for administrative assistance from the USA and appoints Hans-Jörg Müllhaupt as project coordinator (media release media release).
  • On 31 August 2009 the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) files a request for administrative assistance with the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) concerning approximately 4,450 UBS accounts (media release media release).
  • On 17 November 2009 the Annex to Agreement is published in Switzerland's official compilation of legislation. The official assistance that Switzerland is providing to the US tax authorities in connection with the UBS affair is on track (media release media release).
  • Within the scope of a request for administrative assistance from the US tax authorities, the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) has already processed over 500 cases (media release media release).
  • On January 21, 2010, an UBS AG account holder wins a Federal Administrative Court case preventing data from being disclosed to the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS). This ruling involves a single test case on continued and severe tax evasion (media release media release (13 Kb, pdf) ).
  • Further to an analysis of the Federal Administrative Court's latest ruling, the Council decides on 27 January 2010 to continue talks with the USA. A possible second step would be to put the Treaty Request Agreement to Parliament for approval (media release media release).
  • The Federal Council is to put the UBS Agreement to Parliament for formal approval. On 24 February 2010 it instructs the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) to prepare the corresponding Federal Council Message (media release media release).
  • On 31 March 2010 the Federal Council approves the amending protocol which revises the UBS Agreement. The protocol is signed the same day in Washington (media release media release).
  • On 14 April 2010 the Federal Council passes the dispatch on the acceptance of the revised UBS Agreement to parliament (media release media release).
  • The Parliament approves during the summer session 2010 the revised UBS Agreement (media release media release).
  • In a pilot verdict of July 15, 2010, the rejects a complaint with which a UBS client wanted to prevent the release of her client data to the American tax authorities (media release media release).
  • The Federal Tax Administration (FTA) has concluded its administrative assistance examination relating to approximately 4,450 UBS client dossiers. It has done so by the deadline set in the administrative assistance treaty with the (media release media release).
  • Following the last substantial delivery of administrative assistance cases by Switzerland, on 15 November 2010 the US tax authority (IRS) withdraws fully and definitively the John Doe Summons served on UBS (media release media release).

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documentation

Ruling of the Federal Administrative Court
Contact / questions
Folco Galli
Federal Office of Justice
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 77 88, T +41 79 214 48 81
Contact
Beat Furrer
Swiss Federal Tax Administration
Eigerstrasse 65
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 464 91 29
Contact

Bundesamt für Justiz

Fall UBS

Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den USA über ein Amtshilfegesuch des Internal Revenue Service betreffend UBS

Worum geht es?

Das Abkommen über ein Amtshilfegesuch des Internal Revenue Service (IRS) betreffend UBS löst den Souveränitätskonflikt mit den USA auf dem staatsvertraglich vorgesehenen Weg. Diese Verhandlungslösung legt den drohenden Konflikt zwischen den Rechtsordnungen der Schweiz und der USA bei, da die USA auf einseitige Massnahmen zur Informationsbeschaffung verzichten und stattdessen auf der Grundlage des bilateralen Doppelbesteuerungsabkommens ein neues Amtshilfegesuch an die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (EStV) übermitteln. Die Schweiz verpflichtet sich im Gegenzug, das neue Amtshilfegesuch innert eines Jahres zu bearbeiten.

Was ist bisher geschehen?
  • Am 30. April 2009 reicht die Schweiz eine Eingabe an das im Fall UBS zuständige Bundesbezirksgericht in Miami ein. Darin erläutert sie ihren rechtlichen Standpunkt und unterstreicht, dass ihre Rechtsordnung und damit ihre Souveränität zu respektieren sind (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 7. Juli 2009 bekräftigt die Schweiz in einer Antwort auf die Stellungnahme der US-Behörden im Fall UBS, dass das Schweizer Recht eine Herausgabe der Kundendaten verbietet. In ihrer Eingabe an das zuständige Gericht in Miami weist sie zudem darauf hin, dass die notwendigen Massnahmen zur Durchsetzung des Schweizer Rechts vorbereitet sind (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 12. Juli 2009 reichen die US-Regierung und die UBS mit der Unterstützung des Bundesrates im US-Zivilverfahren gegen die UBS ein Sistierungsgesuch ein (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung). Das US-Zivilverfahren wird in der Folge noch zwei weitere Male im Hinblick auf eine aussergerichtliche Einigung sistiert.
  • Am 12. August 2009 teilen die Schweiz und die USA dem zuständigen Richter mit, dass sie im US-Zivilverfahren gegen die UBS einen Vergleich erzielt haben (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 19. August 2009 tritt das Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und den USA in Kraft. Die USA übermitteln im Fall UBS ein neues Amtshilfegesuch an die Schweiz und verzichten auf die Durchsetzung der Zivilklage, welche die Offenlegung der Identität von 52 000 Kontoinhabern der UBS verlangt. Die Schweiz verpflichtet sich im Gegenzug, ein neues, rund 4450 Konten betreffendes Amtshilfegesuch innert eines Jahres zu bearbeiten (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 19. August 2009 beauftragt der Bundesrat die Eidg. Steuerverwaltung (ESTV), eine Projektorganisation zur Abwicklung des zweiten umfangreichen Amtshilfegesuchs aus den USA aufzustellen, und ernennt Hans-Jörg Müllhaupt zum Gesamtprojektleiter (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 31. August 2009 trifft das Amtshilfegesuch des Internal Revenue Service IRS, das rund 4450 UBS-Konten betrifft, bei der Eidgenössischen Steuerverwaltung ESTV ein (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 17. November 2009 wird der Anhang zum UBS-Abkommen in der Amtlichen Sammlung veröffentlicht. Die Amtshilfe, welche die Schweiz gegenüber den amerikanischen Steuerbehörden leistet, ist auf Kurs (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung (ESTV) hat im Rahmen des Amtshilfegesuchs der US-amerikanischen Steuerbehörde bereits über 500 Fälle bearbeitet (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Das Bundesverwaltungsgericht heisst mit Urteil vom 21. Januar 2010 die Beschwerde einer US-Steuerpflichtigen gegen die Herausgabe ihrer Bankdaten an die amerikanische Steuerbehörde (IRS) im Rahmen des Amtshilfeverfahrens bezüglich UBS gut. Es handelt sich um den Pilotfall betreffend fortgesetzte und schwere Steuerdelikte (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 27. Januar 2010 beschliesst der Bundesrat aufgrund einer Analyse des Urteils des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts, die Gespräche mit den USA fortzuführen. Gegebenenfalls wird er in einem zweiten Schritt das Amtshilfeabkommen dem Parlament zur Genehmigung unterbreiten (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Der Bundesrat wird das UBS-Abkommen dem Parlament zur Genehmigung unterbreiten. Er beauftragt am 24. Februar 2010 das Eidg. Justiz- und Polizeidepartement (EJPD), eine entsprechende Botschaft auszuarbeiten (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 31. März 2010 genehmigt der Bundesrat das Änderungsprotokoll zur Revision des UBS-Abkommens. Das Protokoll wird noch gleichentags in Washington unterzeichnet (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Am 14. April 2010 verabschiedet der Bundesrat eine Botschaft zuhanden des Parlaments die Botschaft zur Genehmigung des revidierten UBS-Abkommens (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
     
  • Parlamentarische Beratungen Parlamentarische Beratungen (10.038)
     
  • Das Parlament genehmigt während der Sommersession 2010 das revidierte UBS-Abkommen (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • In einem Pilotentscheid vom 15. Juli 2010 weist das Bundesverwaltungsgericht eine Beschwerde ab, mit welcher eine UBS-Kundin die Herausgabe ihrer Kundendaten an die amerikanischen Steuerbehörden verhindern wollte (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung hat die Amtshilfe-Prüfung von rund 4’450 UBS-Kundendossiers innerhalb der im Amtshilfevertrag mit den USA vorgesehenen Frist abgeschlossen (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).
  • Nach der letzten substantiellen Lieferung von Amtshilfefällen durch die Schweiz zieht die amerikanische Steuerbehörde IRS am 15. November 2010 den John Doe Summons gegen die UBS vollständig und definitiv zurück (Medienmitteilung Medienmitteilung).

Dokumentation

Zivilverfahren gegen die UBS
Kontakt / Rückfragen
Folco Galli
Bundesamt für Justiz
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 77 88, T +41 79 214 48 81
Kontakt
Beat Furrer
Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung
Eigerstrasse 65
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 464 91 29
Kontakt