Federal Office of Justice

Lugano Convention 1988

Go to page «Lugano Convention 2007»

The Lugano Convention on Jurisdiction and the Enforcement of Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters was concluded in Lugano on 16 September 1988. The following countries have acceded to it: the old member states of the European Union, Poland and the members of the European Free-Trade Association EFTA (see list of contracting states). It is a parallel convention to the Brussels Convention of the same name of 27 September 1969 on the jurisdiction and the enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters.

The Lugano convention was drafted in the following languages: Danish, German, English, Finnish, French, Greek, Irish, Islandic, Italian, Dutch, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish and Spanish. All versions are equally binding (art. 68).

Case law

The full text of the rulings handed down by the Court of Justice of the European Communities pertaining to the Lugano Convention and the Brussels Convention after 17 June 1997 are available online in their original language and are accompanied by key words in English and French.

Reports on national caselaw

First report of 27 September 1999:
Second report of 15 September 2000:
Third report of 15 November 2001:
4th report of september 2002:
5th report of september 2003:
6th report of september 2004:
7th report of september 2005:
8th report of september 2006:
9th report of september 2007:
10th report of september 2008:
11th report of september 2009:
12th report of september 2010:
13th report of May 2012:

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.