Federal Office of Justice

UBS case

Agreement between the United States of America and Switzerland on the request for information from the Internal Revenue Service regarding UBS

What is it about?

The Agreement on the request for information from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) regarding UBS resolves the conflict over sovereignty with the USA along the lines provided for in the Tax Treaty. The negotiated solution settles the potential conflict between the respective legal orders of Switzerland and USA now that the USA agree to forgo unilateral measures to obtain information. The IRS submits a new treaty request to the Swiss Federal Tax Administration (SFTA) on the basis of the tax treaty currently in effect between the two nations. In return, Switzerland has undertaken to process the new treaty request within a year.

What has happened so far?
  • On 30 April 2009, Switzerland files a brief with the United States District Court in Miami competent in the UBS case. In its brief, the federal government explains its legal position on the case and emphasizes that Switzerland's legal system, and thus its sovereignty, must be respected (media release media release).
  • In a response to the opinion of the U.S. authorities in the UBS case, Switzerland on 7 July 2009 confirms that Swiss law prohibits handing over client information. In its filing with the competent court in Miami, the government of Switzerland also points out that the necessary measures to implement Swiss law have been prepared (media release media release).
  • On 12 July 2009, the US Government and UBS, with the support of the Swiss Government, file a joint motion to stay the civil litigation pending in the United States District Court for the Southern District of Florida in Miami (media release media release). Hereinafter, the Court stays the proceedings two other times in order to achieve a settlement.
  • On 12 August 2009 the USA and Switzerland inform the judge that they have reached the out-of-court settlement in the US civil proceedings against UBS (media release media release).
  • On 19 August 2009 the agreement between the USA and Switzerland enters into force. In the UBS case, the United States will submit a new treaty request to Switzerland and will withdraw the John Doe summons that demands disclosure of the identity of 52,000 UBS account-holders. In return, Switzerland has undertaken to process the new treaty request, concerning approx. 4,450 accounts, within a year (media release media release).
  • On 19 August 2009 the Federal Council instructs the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) to set up a project organisation team to deal with the second complex request for administrative assistance from the USA and appoints Hans-Jörg Müllhaupt as project coordinator (media release media release).
  • On 31 August 2009 the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) files a request for administrative assistance with the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) concerning approximately 4,450 UBS accounts (media release media release).
  • On 17 November 2009 the Annex to Agreement is published in Switzerland's official compilation of legislation. The official assistance that Switzerland is providing to the US tax authorities in connection with the UBS affair is on track (media release media release).
  • Within the scope of a request for administrative assistance from the US tax authorities, the Federal Tax Administration (FTA) has already processed over 500 cases (media release media release).
  • On January 21, 2010, an UBS AG account holder wins a Federal Administrative Court case preventing data from being disclosed to the US Internal Revenue Service (IRS). This ruling involves a single test case on continued and severe tax evasion (media release media release (13 Kb, pdf) ).
  • Further to an analysis of the Federal Administrative Court's latest ruling, the Council decides on 27 January 2010 to continue talks with the USA. A possible second step would be to put the Treaty Request Agreement to Parliament for approval (media release media release).
  • The Federal Council is to put the UBS Agreement to Parliament for formal approval. On 24 February 2010 it instructs the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) to prepare the corresponding Federal Council Message (media release media release).
  • On 31 March 2010 the Federal Council approves the amending protocol which revises the UBS Agreement. The protocol is signed the same day in Washington (media release media release).
  • On 14 April 2010 the Federal Council passes the dispatch on the acceptance of the revised UBS Agreement to parliament (media release media release).
  • The Parliament approves during the summer session 2010 the revised UBS Agreement (media release media release).
  • In a pilot verdict of July 15, 2010, the rejects a complaint with which a UBS client wanted to prevent the release of her client data to the American tax authorities (media release media release).
  • The Federal Tax Administration (FTA) has concluded its administrative assistance examination relating to approximately 4,450 UBS client dossiers. It has done so by the deadline set in the administrative assistance treaty with the (media release media release).
  • Following the last substantial delivery of administrative assistance cases by Switzerland, on 15 November 2010 the US tax authority (IRS) withdraws fully and definitively the John Doe Summons served on UBS (media release media release).

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Documentation

Ruling of the Federal Administrative Court
Contact / questions
Folco Galli
Federal Office of Justice
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 77 88, T +41 79 214 48 81
Contact
Beat Furrer
Swiss Federal Tax Administration
Eigerstrasse 65
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 464 91 29
Contact

Office fédéral de la justice

Affaire UBS

Accord entre la Suisse et les Etats-Unis d'Amérique concernant la demande de renseignements de l'Internal Revenue Service relative à l’UBS

De quoi s’agit-il ?

L’accord concernant la demande de renseignements de l'Internal Revenue Service (IRS) relative à l’UBS résout le litige de souveraineté avec les États-Unis par le biais d’un traité international. Cette solution négociée aplanit le litige qui menaçait d’opposer les ordres juridiques de la Suisse et des États-Unis, ces derniers ayant renoncé à des mesures unilatérales pour se procurer des informations. Au lieu de cela, l’IRS transmet sur la base de la convention de double imposition une nouvelle demande d’entraide administrative à l’Administration fédérale des contributions (AFC). La Suisse s’engage en contrepartie à traiter dans un délai d’un an cette nouvelle demande d’entraide administrative.

Les étapes préalables
  • Le 30 avril 2009, la Suisse adresse un mémoire au tribunal compétent, à savoir celui du district fédéral de Miami. Elle y expose son point de vue juridique sur cette cause et souligne que son ordre juridique et, partant, sa souveraineté doivent être respectés (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • En réponse à une prise de position des autorités des Etats-Unis dans l’affaire UBS, la Suisse réaffirme le 7 juillet 2009 que le droit suisse interdit la communication de données sur des clients. Dans sa lettre au tribunal compétent de Miami, elle indique en outre que les mesures nécessaires pour faire appliquer le droit suisse sont prêtes à être mises en œuvre (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le 12 juillet 2009, le gouvernement américain et UBS déposent, avec le soutien du Conseil fédéral, une demande de suspension de la procédure civile menée aux Etats-Unis contre UBS (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias). Par la suite, la procédure civile est encore suspendue deux autres fois, dans la perspective d’une conciliation extrajudiciaire.
  • Le 12 août 2009, la Suisse et les Etats-Unis informent le juge compétent qu’ils sont parvenus à un accord dans l’affaire UBS (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le19 août 2009, l’accord entre la Suisse et les Etats-Unis entre en vigueur. Dans l’affaire UBS, les Etats-Unis présenteront une nouvelle demande d’entraide administrative à la Suisse ; ils abandonnent la requête d’exécution introduite dans le cadre de la procédure civile visant à obtenir l’identité de 52 000 titulaires de comptes d’UBS. La Suisse s’engage en contrepartie à traiter dans un délai d’un an cette nouvelle demande d’entraide administrative, qui portera sur quelque 4450 comptes (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le 19 août 2009, le Conseil fédéral charge l'Administration fédérale des contributions (AFC) de mettre sur pied une organisation pour répondre à la deuxième demande d'assistance administrative et nomme Hans-Jörg Müllhaupt responsable de ce projet  (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le 31 août 2009, l'administration fédérale des contributions (AFC) reçoit la demande d'assistance administrative de l'Internal Revenue Service (IRS) portant sur environ 4450 comptes UBS (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le 17 novembre 2009, l'annexe à l'accord est publiée dans le recueil officiel. La procédure d'entraide administrative relative à l'accord UBS, dans laquelle la Suisse fournit son assistance aux autorités fiscales américaines, suit son cours (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • L'Administration fédérale des contributions (AFC) a déjà traité plus de 500 cas visés par la demande d'assistance administrative des autorités fiscales américaines (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Dans son arrêt du 21 janvier 2010, le Tribunal administratif fédéral admet le recours d’une contribuable des Etat-Unis contre la décision de l’Administration fédérale des contributions de transmettre ses données bancaires aux autorités fiscales des Etats-Unis (IRS) dans le cadre de la procédure d’entraide administrative relative au cas UBS. Il s’agit de la décision pilote concernant des comportements délictueux graves et durables (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Sur la base d’une analyse de l’arrêt du Tribunal administratif fédéral, le Conseil fédéral décide le 27 janvier 2010 de poursuivre les discussions avec les Etats-Unis. Dans un deuxième temps, il pourrait soumettre l’accord d’entraide administrative conclu avec les Etats-Unis à l’approbation du Parlement (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le Conseil fédéral soumettra à l’approbation du Parlement l’accord UBS. Le Département fédéral de justice et police (EFJP) est chargé le 24 février 2010 d’élaborer un message à cet effet (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le 31 mars 2010, le Conseil fédéral fédéral le protocole modifiant l’accord UBS, signé le même jour à Washington (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le 14 avril 2010, le Conseil fédéral approuve un message à l’adresse du Parlement en vue de l’approbation de l’accord UBS révisé (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
     
  • Délibérations parlementaires Délibérations parlementaires (10.038)
     
  • Le Parlement approuve pendant la session d'été 2010 l'accord UBS révisé (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Dans l'arrêt pilote du 15 Juillet 2010, le Tribunal administratif fédéral rejette le recours, par lequel une cliente UBS souhaitait empêcher la transmission de ses données bancaires à l'administration fiscale américaine (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • L’Administration fédérale des contributions a terminé l’examen de l’assistance administrative relative à 4450 dossiers de clients de l’UBS dans le délai prévu par l’accord d’assistance administrative passé avec les Etats-Unis (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).
  • Le 15 novembre 2010, l’autorité fiscale américaine IRS retire complètement et définitivement le John Doe Summons contre UBS, après que la Suisse a livré la plus grande partie des dossiers concernés par la demande d’entraide administrative (communiqué aux médias communiqué aux médias).

Documentation

Procédure civile contre l’UBS
Arrêt du Tribunal fédéral administratif
Contact / renseignements
Folco Galli
Office fédéral de la justice
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Berne
T +41 58 462 77 88, T +41 79 214 48 81
Contact
Beat Furrer
Administration fédérale des contributions
Eigerstrasse 65
CH-3003 Berne
T +41 58 464 91 29
Contact