Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf
Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf was born on March 16, 1956, in Felsberg, Grisons, where she and her two sisters spent their childhood. She is married and the mother of three.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf received a degree in law from the University of Zürich in 1981. She returned to her native canton of Grisons, where she was admitted to the bar, practicing as a lawyer and notary public. She gained a J.D. from the University of Zürich in 1990.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf worked as a lawyer and notary public from 1987 to 1998. She was elected to the district court of Trin in 1985, presiding form 1991 to 1997. She was a member of the cantonal legislative of Grisons from 1994 to 1998, and became elected to the cantonal government on March 15, 1998. She headed the cantonal Department of Finance from January 1, 1999, to December 31, 2007, and acted as president of the cantonal council in 2001 and 2005.

On December 12, 2007, the United Federal Assembly elected Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf federal councilor. She assumed office on January 1, 2008.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf sat in numerous administrative commissions. From September 2001, she presided the Cantonal Finance Directors’ Conference. She was also a member of the executive committee of the Conference of Cantonal Governments, and from May 2004 she sat in the bank council of the Swiss National Bank.

Federal Councillor Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf is a member of the BDP Switzerland.

Since November 1, 2010, Federal Councillor Eveline Widmer-Schlumf is head of the Federal Department of Finance.

to the top Last modification 08.12.2016

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf

Bundesrätin Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf
Bundesrätin Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf wurde am 16. März 1956 geboren und wuchs zusammen mit zwei Schwestern in Felsberg auf.

Nach dem Jurastudium in Zürich kehrte sie 1981 wieder in ihren Heimatkanton Graubünden zurück, erwarb das Bündner Anwalts- und Notariatspatent und promovierte 1990 an der Universität Zürich. In der gleichen Zeitspanne heiratete Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf und wurde Mutter von drei Kindern.

Von 1987 bis 1998 arbeitete sie als selbständige Rechtsanwältin und Notarin. 1985 wurde sie ins Kreisgericht Trins gewählt und präsidierte dieses von 1991 bis 1997. Als Grossrätin arbeitete sie in den Jahren 1994 bis 1998 in zahlreichen Kommissionen mit. Am 15. März 1998 wurde sie in die Bündner Regierung gewählt. Ab dem 1. Januar 1999 bis 31. Dezember 2007 war sie Vorsteherin des Departements für Finanzen und Gemeinden. In dieser Zeit war sie zwei Mal Regierungspräsidentin (2001 und 2005).

Am 12. Dezember 2007 wurde Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf von der Vereinigten Bundesversammlung in den Bundesrat gewählt. Dieses Amt trat sie am 1. Januar 2008 an.

In ihrer bisherigen politischen Laufbahn war sie in verschiedenen Verwaltungskommissionen tätig. Seit September 2001 war sie Präsidentin der Konferenz der kantonalen Finanzdirektoren. Ausserdem war sie Mitglied des Leitenden Ausschusses der Konferenz der Kantonsregierungen. Seit Mai 2004 war sie Mitglied des Bankrates der Schweizerischen Nationalbank.

Bundesrätin Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf ist Mitglied der BDP Schweiz.

Per 1. November 2010 wechselte sie vom Eidgenössischen Justiz- und Polizeidepartement ins Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement.

Fotos

nach oben Letzte Änderung 08.12.2016