Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf
Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf was born on March 16, 1956, in Felsberg, Grisons, where she and her two sisters spent their childhood. She is married and the mother of three.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf received a degree in law from the University of Zürich in 1981. She returned to her native canton of Grisons, where she was admitted to the bar, practicing as a lawyer and notary public. She gained a J.D. from the University of Zürich in 1990.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf worked as a lawyer and notary public from 1987 to 1998. She was elected to the district court of Trin in 1985, presiding form 1991 to 1997. She was a member of the cantonal legislative of Grisons from 1994 to 1998, and became elected to the cantonal government on March 15, 1998. She headed the cantonal Department of Finance from January 1, 1999, to December 31, 2007, and acted as president of the cantonal council in 2001 and 2005.

On December 12, 2007, the United Federal Assembly elected Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf federal councilor. She assumed office on January 1, 2008.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf sat in numerous administrative commissions. From September 2001, she presided the Cantonal Finance Directors’ Conference. She was also a member of the executive committee of the Conference of Cantonal Governments, and from May 2004 she sat in the bank council of the Swiss National Bank.

Federal Councillor Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf is a member of the BDP Switzerland.

Since November 1, 2010, Federal Councillor Eveline Widmer-Schlumf is head of the Federal Department of Finance.

to the top Last modification 08.12.2016

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf

Conseillère fédérale Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf
Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, conseillère fédérale

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf est née le 16 mars 1956. Elle a grandi à Felsberg, dans le canton des Grisons, avec ses deux sœurs.

Après des études de droit à Zurich, elle rentre en 1981 dans son canton d’origine, où elle passe le brevet d’avocat et le brevet de notaire. En 1990, elle obtient un doctorat à l’Université de Zurich. Durant cette période, Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf s’est mariée et a eu trois enfants.

De 1987 à 1998, elle a exercé une activité indépendante en qualité d’avocate et de notaire. En 1985, elle a été élue au tribunal d’arrondissement de Trins, qu’elle a ensuite présidé, de 1991 à 1997. Entre 1994 et 1998, en qualité de députée du Grand Conseil, elle a travaillé dans de nombreuses commissions. Le 15 mars 1998, elle a été élue au gouvernement du canton des Grisons. Du 1er janvier 1999 au 31 décembre 2007, elle a dirigé le Département des finances et des communes. Elle a présidé deux fois le gouvernement (en 2001 et en 2005).

Le 12 décembre 2007, Mme Widmer-Schlumpf a été élue au Conseil fédéral par l’Assemblée fédérale (Chambres réunies). Elle est entrée en fonction le 1er janvier 2008.

Sur le plan politique, Mme Widmer-Schlumpf a fait partie de différentes commissions administratives. Depuis septembre 2001, elle présidait la Conférence des directeurs cantonaux des finances. Elle était par ailleurs membre du Bureau de la Conférence des gouvernements cantonaux. Depuis le mois de mai 2004, elle était membre du Conseil de banque de la Banque nationale suisse.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf, conseillère fédérale, est membre du PBD suisse.

Le 1er novembre 2010, la conseillère fédérale Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf a quitté le Département fédéral de justice et police pour reprendre la tête du Département fédéral des finances.

Photos

vers le haut Dernière modification 08.12.2016