Federal Council opens consultation on digital Schengen visas

Bern, 08.12.2023 - In future Schengen visa applications will be digitised and have to be submitted on an EU platform. As a Schengen state, Switzerland aligns itself with this modernisation and must incorporate this new regulation into national law, amending current legislation to do so. The Federal Council opened the consultation on the corresponding draft legislation at its meeting on 8 December.

On 13 November 2023, the EU adopted a new regulation on the submission of applications for short-stay visas (90 days) to enter the Schengen area. Under the regulation, Schengen visa applications will have to be submitted on an electronic EU platform, which has yet to be developed. The visas will be issued in digital form and replace the stickers issued in paper form until now.

Some of the provisions of the new EU regulation must be incorporated into Swiss law before becoming applicable. This requires amendments to the Foreign Nationals and Integration Act (FNIA). The amendments concern, in particular, provisions relating to the future platform, the content of the national visa system and the delegation of new tasks, such as the verification of travel documents, to appointed third parties.

The digital processing of visa applications will harmonise processes, simplify procedures for applicants and foster effective cooperation between the migration authorities of the Schengen states. However, there will be exemptions from using the EU platform, for example in special humanitarian cases or where internet access is difficult. The Federal Council will define these exemptions at ordinance level at a later date.

The consultation on the legislative amendments will run until 22 March 2024. The new European platform is scheduled for roll-out in January 2026, with Switzerland expected to connect to the platform in 2028 at the earliest.

Changes to the visa format

As part of the new submission procedure, the visa format must be redefined so that visas can be issued in digital form. At its meeting on 8 December, the Federal Council therefore also adopted an amendment to the Ordinance on Entry and the Granting of Visas (EGVO), providing for a digital visa in the form of a barcode in addition to a paper visa sticker.

Digitalisation of the visa procedure will apply not only to short-stay Schengen visas, but also to visas for stays exceeding 90 days (‘national visas’). The change will come into force on 1 February 2024.


Address for enquiries

Information and Communication SEM, medien@sem.admin.ch



Publisher

The Federal Council
https://www.admin.ch/gov/en/start.html

Federal Department of Justice and Police
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

State Secretariat for Migration
https://www.sem.admin.ch/sem/en/home.html

Last modification 10.06.2024

Top of page

button-nsb-abo

News subscription

On the portal of the Swiss Government you can subscribe to the SEM press releases.

https://www.ejpd.admin.ch/content/sem/en/home/sem/medien/mm.msg-id-99279.html

Bundesrat eröffnet Vernehmlassung zur Digitalisierung von Schengen-Visa

Bern, 08.12.2023 - Künftig müssen Schengen-Visumanträge in digitaler Form auf einer europäischen Plattform eingereicht werden. Als Schengen-Staat beteiligt sich die Schweiz an dieser Modernisierung. Dazu muss sie ihr nationales Recht anpassen. Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 8. Dezember 2023 die Vernehmlassung zum entsprechenden Gesetzgebungsprojekt eröffnet.

Die EU hat am 13. November 2023 eine Verordnung über die Einreichung von Visumanträgen für einen kurzfristigen Aufenthalt (90 Tage) im Schengen-Raum verabschiedet. Gemäss dieser neuen Verordnung sind Schengen-Visumanträge über eine noch zu entwickelnde elektronische EU-Plattform einzureichen. Visa werden künftig in digitaler Form ausgestellt. Diese digitalen Visa werden die Visummarke in Papierform ablösen.

Einige Bestimmungen dieser Weiterentwicklung des Schengen-Besitzstands bedürfen einer Umsetzung in schweizerisches Recht, damit sie anwendbar sind. Dies setzt eine Anpassung des Ausländer- und Integrationsgesetzes (AIG) voraus. Die Änderungen betreffen insbesondere Bestimmungen über die künftige Plattform, den Inhalt des nationalen Visumsystems und die Übertragung neuer Aufgaben wie die Überprüfung der Reisedokumente an beauftragte Dritte.

Die digitale Bearbeitung der Visumanträge wird einheitliche Prozesse, vereinfachte Verfahren für Antragstellerinnen und Antragsteller sowie eine wirksame Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Migrationsbehörden der Schengen-Staaten ermöglichen. Es sind jedoch Ausnahmen von der Nutzung der EU-Plattform vorgesehen, beispielsweise wenn besondere humanitäre Gründe vorliegen oder der Zugang zum Internet erschwert ist. Der Bundesrat wird diese Ausnahmen auf Verordnungsstufe festlegen.

Die Vernehmlassung zu dieser Vorlage dauert bis zum 22. März 2024. Die eigentliche Inbetriebnahme der europäischen Visumantragsplattform ist derzeit für Januar 2026 geplant. Die Schweiz wird sich frühestens im Jahr 2028 an die Plattform anbinden.

Änderung des Visumformats

Damit Visa in digitaler Form ausgestellt werden können, ist das Visumformat neu zu definieren. Deshalb hat der Bundesrat an seiner Sitzung vom 8. Dezember 2023 auch eine Änderung der Verordnung über die Einreise und die Visumerteilung (VEV) verabschiedet. Die VEV hält neu fest, dass parallel zur Visummarke in Papierform auch ein digitales Visum in Form eines Strichcodes möglich ist.

Die Digitalisierung des Visumverfahrens betrifft nicht nur Visa für einen kurzfristigen Aufenthalt im Schengen-Raum, die über die EU-Plattform beantragt werden, sondern auch nationale Visa. Diese Änderung tritt bereits am 1. Februar 2024 in Kraft.


Adresse für Rückfragen

Information und Kommunikation SEM, medien@sem.admin.ch



Herausgeber

Der Bundesrat
https://www.admin.ch/gov/de/start.html

Eidgenössisches Justiz- und Polizeidepartement
http://www.ejpd.admin.ch

Staatssekretariat für Migration
https://www.sem.admin.ch/sem/de/home.html

Letzte Änderung 10.06.2024

Zum Seitenanfang

button-nsb-abo

Medienmitteilungen abonnieren

Auf dem Portal der Schweizer Regierung können Sie die Medienmitteilungen des SEM per E-Mail abonnieren.

https://www.fedpol.admin.ch/content/sem/de/home/sem/medien/mm.msg-id-99279.html