At the head of METAS: the Institute Council

der-institutsrat

The five members of the Institute Council are responsible for the business management. They possess soundly based experience and knowledge of corporate management, research and development, the natural sciences and engineering.

The duties of the Institute Council are set out in the Institute Act.

The Institute Council defines the orientation of METAS within the framework of the strategic goals of the Federal Council. When determining the goals, the Institute Council is guided by these Federal Council guidelines. Here a major role is played by the research and development programme.  

kaiserswerth-100-2014

Director of the Hasler foundation, Bern. Member since 2012.

suter-100-2014

Chemical engineer, former Professor at MIT and ETH Zurich, former Vice-President of Research at ETH Zurich. Member of administrative and foundation boards. Member since 2012.

courvoisier-100-2014

President of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT), past president of the association of Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, President of the European Academies Science Advisory Council EASAC, Professor emeritus of Astrophysics at the University of Geneva. Member since 2012.

Kaiser-100-2014

Managing director of the consulting firm E-Consulting. 2012 to 2016 President of the Federal Energy Research Commission (CORE). 2010 to 2015 Senior Consultant at Consenec AG in Baden-Dättwil. Formerly responsible for the long-term technology programme in the power station sector with ALSTOM Power.  Member since 2012.

ursula-widmer

Attorney-at-law for technology law, lecturer in computer and internet law at the University of Berne and lecturer in information security law at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ).

Former member of the Federal Data Protection Commission, past president of the Information Security Society Switzerland (ISSS) and past president of the International Technology Law Association (ITechLaw).

Member of the commission of experts appointed by the Federal Council on the "Future of Data Processing and Data Security", President of the Board of Trustees of the German Foundation for Law and Informatics (DSRI).  Member of the Institute Council since 2018.

Further information

to the top Last modification 19.02.2019

An der Spitze des METAS: der Institutsrat

Insitutsrat_2019_03_DSC08720

Die Mitglieder des Institutsrats sind für die unternehmerische Führung verantwortlich. Sie verfügen über fundierte Erfahrung und Kenntnisse in der Unternehmensführung, in Forschung und Entwicklung, in den Naturwissenschaften und der Technik.

Die Aufgaben des Institutsrats legt das Institutsgesetz fest.

Der Institutsrat definiert die Ausrichtung des METAS im Rahmen der strategischen Ziele des Bundesrates. An diesen Vorgaben des Bundesrates orientiert sich der Institutsrat bei der Festlegung der Ziele. Eine grosse Rolle spielt dabei das Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprogramm.  

kaiserswerth-100-2014

Geschäftsführer der Hasler Stiftung, Bern. Mitglied des Institutsrats seit 2012. 

suter-100-2014

Chemieingenieur, ehem. Professor am MIT und der ETH Zürich, ehem. Vizepräsident Forschung der ETH Zürich. Mitglied von Verwaltungs- und Stiftungsräten. Mitglied des Institutsrats seit 2012.

courvoisier-100-2014

Präsident der Schweizerischen Akademie der Naturwissenschaften (SCNAT) sowie Altpräsident des Verbunds der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz, Präsident des European Academies Science Advisory Council EASAC, Professor emeritiert für Astrophysik an der Universität Genf. Mitglied des Institutsrats seit 2012.

Kaiser-100-2014

Geschäftsführer der Beratungsfirma E-Consulting. 2012 bis 2016 Präsident der Eidgenössischen Energieforschungskommission (CORE). 2010 bis 2015 Senior Consultant bei Consenec AG, Baden-Dättwil. Vorher verantwortlich für die langfristigen Technologieprogramme bei ALSTOM Power. Mitglied des Institutsrats seit 2012.

ursula-widmer

Rechtsanwältin für Technologierecht, Lehrbeauftragte für Informatik- und Internetrecht an der Universität Bern sowie Lehrbeauftragte für Recht der Informationssicherheit an der Eidg. Technischen Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ).

Ehemaliges Mitglied der Eidgenössischen Datenschutzkommission, Past President der Information Security Society Switzerland (ISSS) und Past President der International Technology Law Association (ITechLaw).

Mitglied der vom Bundesrat eingesetzten Expertenkommission zur «Zukunft der Datenbearbeitung und Datensicherheit», Präsidentin des Stiftungsrates der Deutschen Stiftung für Recht und Informatik (DSRI).  Mitglied des Institutsrats seit 2018. 

nach oben Letzte Änderung 02.04.2019